Dirt Bombs

Here’s a little something I made back in the Fall that I found to be quite tasty.  The recipe was given to me by my Mom who read it in her local paper.  Apparently the bakery that sells them has lines out the door and they always sell out.  When I made them back in the Fall I used apple cider instead of the milk which was suggested in the article.  Tonight I followed the recipe as is.  The best part is I just happen to have all the ingredients on hand. 

Basically the taste reminds me of coffee cake or an old-fashioned donut.  The original recipe is delicious but I think the apple cider version adds just a hint more depth.

A LITTLE SOMETHING BAKERY’S ‘DIRT BOMB’

>> 3 cups, minus 3 tablespoons, all-purpose flour

>> 1 tablespoon baking powder

>> 1/2 teaspoon salt

>> 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg

>> 1/4 teaspoon ground cardamom

>> 3/4 cup unsalted butter, softened

>> 1 cup granulated sugar

>> 2 large eggs

>> 1 cup whole milk

Topping

>> 3/4 cup unsalted butter, melted

>> 1/2 cup granulated sugar

>> 1-1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Place the rack in the center position. Generously grease a standard 12-cup muffin pan.

In a large mixing bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, salt, nutmeg and cardamom.

In another bowl, cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Scrape the bowl down half way through. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.

Mix dry ingredients into the butter/sugar mixture, alternating with milk in two additions and mixing gently by hand to incorporate all the flour. (The batter will be on the stiff side, but airy. Don’t over-mix or beat batter as this will make the muffins tough.)

Spoon batter into the prepared pan, filling cups two-thirds full without smoothing the tops.

Bake for about 25 minutes or until a cake tester inserted in the center comes out clean. As soon as the muffins are cool enough to handle, turn them out onto a wire rack.

Prepare the topping: Put the melted butter in a bowl. In another bowl, combine the sugar and cinnamon.

Dip the muffins (tops, sides and bottoms) in the butter, using a pastry brush – if necessary – to cover areas not buttered by dipping. Immediately roll the muffins in the cinnamon-sugar mixture. Serve warm or at room temperature.

Makes 12 dirt bombs.

4 Comments

Filed under Cooking

4 responses to “Dirt Bombs

  1. Gayle

    Sounds delicious! I am going to try to print this off and try it! It reminds me of the homemade doughnuts that my father used to make! I can hardly wait to try them! Thanks for sharing!

  2. dad

    Dort;
    You’ve found your calling.
    Dad

  3. Jane Wyld

    Looks terrific and fun. I love that you are doing this. I have taken your fig hor d’oeuvre to 2 parties with great reviews!
    Have Fun,
    Jane

  4. Mom

    I love the latest carrot cupcakes, Dort! Everything you have featured here in an appetizing way, including recipes and why you are making each dish. It’s a fun way to interact with others on a daily basis, in a light hearted way with one’s appetite for new ways to serve up a delicious dish or a decadent dessert, always first at hand.

    Keep up the great work here, Dort, your blog is fun for others to follow with you.

    Love, Mom

Leave a comment