Apple & Brie Pizza

I have become obsessed with a granny smith apple pizza at a local eatery called Pop’s.  Theirs is Granny smith apples, brie, ricotta and white truffle cream.  I decided I would make an attempt to re-create it.  I had to do without the truffle cream and I think that’s exactly what is missing.  Regardless it was still pretty tasty.  I also decided to cook it on the grill to get the crispy wood fired effect.  I’m still perfecting the entire pizza including the grilling process I will be sure to post an update of my future attempts. 

Apple & Brie Pizza

1 Packet Rapid Rise Yeast

3 1/2 C. All Purpose Flour

1 C. Warm Water

2 Tbsp. Honey

1/2 Tsp. Salt

1/4 C. Olive Oil

1 Granny Smith Apple

~4 Tbsp. Ricotta Cheese (to taste)

Brie Cheese (to taste)

Mix yeast, water, honey and salt and let sit 5 minutes.  In a large bowl combine yeast mixture with flour and oil.  Mix by hand until it forms a smooth ball.  Let rest in an oiled covered bowl 20-30min. in a warm place.  Punch down dough and let rest while you prepare the toppings.  Cut thin 1/8 to 1/4 in. slices of apple and set aside.  Cut dough in half and roll out dough to no thicker than 1/4 inch and place on pre-heated grill (medium temp).  Cook 1-2 min on the first side.  Flip and cook another minute.  Remove from the heat and spread a thin layer of ricotta over the dough. Top with apple slices and pieces of brie cheese.  Return pizza to grill with lid down for another 2 minutes until the dough is cooked through and cheese melts.  Sprinkle with olive oil and salt & pepper before serving.  Note there will be enough dough to make two medium to large pizzas or 4 small personal size.

UPDATE: I just used the remaining dough and decided to add carmalized onions for extra flavor.  The onion definitely hit the spot.  Here’s an updated picture.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Apple & Brie Pizza

  1. Denice

    Dort – This sounds amazing. We will be down in October. It should be waiting. See you then.
    Auntie

  2. Meredith Petrnousek

    Ooooh – thanks! I love Pop’s and live overseas and was trying to recreate it for my family.

Leave a comment